World Cup

The Cricket World Cup, crickets premier one-day international tournament, takes place every four years. The tournament has as many as sixteen teams and is generally held over a 5-7 week period, offering plenty of opportunity for betting enthusiasts who want to bet on the cricket world cup.

Bet On The Cricket World Cup Online

For those who want to jump right in and place a bet on the Cricket World Cup now, then select from our toplist below that covers the top 3 sites for Cricket World Cup betting online. We’ve ranked these sites because of the diversity of Cricket World Cup betting markets, the odds on offer at the site and the bonuses and promotions for new account holders.

Types of Cricket World Cup Bets

Tournament Main Outright Bets

Online bookmakers generally offer a range of outright markets for the Cricket World Cup. Tournament winner is the most obvious, but there are also markets for selecting the finalists and group winners. Some bookmakers will also offer prices on how many group games each team will win.

Tournament Team Prop Bets

Aside from the outright bets, there are numerous team prop bets on offer. Some of the cricket prop betting opportunities available include highest team score, number of team centuries, number of team sixes and so on.

Tournament Individual Prop Bets

The classic type of individual prop bets in cricket are those for batsman scoring the most runs and the bowler taking the most wickets, either for the tournament as a whole or within each team. More specialised individual prop bets are widely available, such as betting on the player with the highest individual score, the player with most sixes, the top scoring wicket-keeper, and so on.

Tournament Totals and Specials

There are a range of betting markets on offer that cover all the cricket matches in the tournament. These include highest and lowest score, total tournament sixes, total run outs and so on. Markets also exist for specific events occurring during the tournament, such as a Hat Trick or a Double Century.

Tournament Match Bets

Match bets covering the whole tournament are also widely available. Two players (either batsman or bowlers) are selected, and put up against each other in a hypothetical head to head contest to see who scores the most runs or takes the most wickets.

Individual Game Bets

As well as all of the tournament bets, whose prices will fluctuate as the tournament takes place, a huge range of markets are available on individual matches. These cover the same type of market as though for the tournament as a whole, but with some additional markets specific to a one off match, such as highest partnership and first over score. The majority of bookmakers also offer live cricket betting on nearly all games, with the number of markets varying depending on the bookmaker and the game in question.

How to Bet on the World Cup Cricket

With such a vast range markets available, it is important to have a strategy when working out how best to enjoy (and hopefully profit from!) betting on the Cricket World Cup. A few good tips are:

• Don’t spread bets too thin: although a lot of unusual and tempting markets are available, it’s generally a good idea to keep focused on a few specific areas.

• Focus on standard markets: although some of the exotic prop bets are great for a bit of amusement, it is generally a good idea to stay focused on the more standard markets, whether main or prop bets, such as total scores, highest run scorer, partnership runs and so on.

• Be informed: the internet provides a wealth of resources in terms of background statistics and information on any player, team or previous match. This information is invaluable when deciding where to place your money.

About the Cricket World Cup

History of the Cricket World Cup

The first three tournaments took place in England at four-year intervals between 1975 and 1983. Since then the tournament has rotated amongst the Test-playing nations, with each tournament often being shared between several countries, and is held every four years.

The format of the World Cup has changed over the years, with the number of teams increasing from eight in 1975 to sixteen in 2001. The length of matches was reduced to 50 overs per innings in 1992, when the teams also switched to playing in coloured uniforms. Other changes include increased fielding restrictions, the use of a white ball, day-night matches, and the introduction of Power Plays.

The first two World Cups were won by the West Indies, but more recently Australia have been dominant, winning the trophy in 1987, 1999, 2003 and 2007. Of the major nations, only England, South Africa and New Zealand have failed to be crowned champions, though England have been losing finalists on three occasions.

Team Pedigree and Performances

Australia have by the far and away the best win-loss record at 51-17 (73%), and went into the 2011 World Cup on the back of 29 successive victories spread over three tournaments from 1999 to 2007.

Despite never winning the tournament, South Africa have the next best winning percentage at 65%, followed by West Indies and England at 61%. India, Pakistan and New Zealand all have winning records of around 55%, whilst Sri Lanka have only 44% of all World Cup games. However Sri Lanka’s recent record is far better, with a winning percentage of 66% since their breakthrough tournament of 1996.

Of the minor teams, there have been some notable performances over the years. Kenya reached the semi-finals in 2003, defeating Sri Lanka along the way, and in their debut tournament in 2007 Ireland beat Pakistan to qualify for the second phase of the tournament.

Format of the Word Cup

The format of the World Cup has changed on a regular basis, but generally begins with a group stage. On some occassions this has been followed by a second group stage (known as the Super6 or the Super8), and then a knock-out semi-final and final. In other tournaments the initial group stage progresses straight to a knock-out quarter-final.

In 2007 and 2011 there were 16 participating teams. All teams with full Test status qualify automatically for the tournament, and a separate qualifying tournament is held to determine which associate ICC members will take part in the main event.