UK Cricket Betting

There are a range of online bookmakers providing UK-focused sports betting, many of them are familiar to British gamblers through their high street shops. All sites with a focus on the UK market cover both international and domestic cricket. Some of the best sites include: A dedicated online bookmaker established in 2000, Bet365 is registered in the UK and offers a wide range of markets on current and future cricket matches, including both the domestic and international scene. Registered in Gibraltar, William Hill is one of the largest online bookmakers in the world and well-known to British gamblers through their high street shops. They offer numerous options for international and domestic cricket betting. This UK-based site is well-known to British gamblers through its range of high street shops. The professional and easy-to-use betting site offers a wide range of cricket markets, including County Championship futures. The largest bookmaker in Ireland, Paddy Power also has a significant UK high street presence. Paddy Power’s online site is licensed in the Isle of Man and offer a wide range of England-focused cricket markets, with particularly extensive live betting markets. Another household name for British gamblers, Ladbrokes is registered in Gibraltar and offers extensive domestic and international cricket markets, particularly for live betting. Slightly different to other online gambling sites, Betfair is a UK-registered betting exchange as opposed to a regular bookmaker. Bets can be backed or laid, and Betfair provides the forum for matching bets between clients. It offers a good range of domestic cricket markets.

UK Cricket Betting Laws and Regulations

Laws related to online gambling in the UK focus on the licensing and regulation of bookmakers. There are few restrictions in place for individuals wishing to open online gambling accounts, limited to age (account holders must be over 18 years of age) and proof of address. Since 2001, British citizens based in the UK do not pay taxes on winnings.

In recent years many UK-based bookmakers moved their headquarters to other locations, such as Gibraltar and the Isle of Man. These companies are not licensed or regulated under UK law, but by the regulatory authority of the country in which they are based. The UK Gambling Commission places the onus on the customer to determine if an online bookmaker is reputable and properly licensed, regardless of the country in which it is based, and does not therefore attempt to block or restrict access to foreign sites.

To help UK gamblers become more aware of the issues surrounding online betting the Gambling Commission produced an information leaflet entitled “What to look for when gambling online”. The leaflet is available to download at the UK Gambling Commission website.

Depositing and Withdrawing Funds for UK Cricket Bettors

There are few restrictions for UK bettors in terms of depositing and withdrawing funds with online bookmakers. Depending on the agency in question, funds can be transferred to and from betting accounts through bank transfer, cheque, credit or debit card and a variety of eWallets, such as Neteller and Moneybookers. Funds can often be deposited using prepaid cards, such as Ukash. Some bookmakers that have a high street presence allow for cash to be deposited and withdrawn into online accounts directly through their shops. Deposit and withdrawal limits are generally specified by individual bookmakers or determined by the method used.

Cricket Competitions in the United Kingdom

Domestic cricket competitions have been played in the UK for several hundred years. There are currently 18 professional county teams who contest a variety of competitions throughout the English summer. The first-class game is the County Championship, in which the 18 counties are divided into two leagues, with relegation and promotion between the divisions each year.

Until 2010 the counties also played two one-day tournaments, but these were replaced with a single 40-over tournament, the Clydesdale Bank 40. All 18 professional counties compete in the tournament, along with Scotland, the Netherlands and one amateur team comprising amateur and non-contracted players. The counties also play a Twenty20 tournament, the Friends Provident T20.