Online Cricket Betting In South Africa

There are a number of high-quality online sportbooks available to South African gamblers, some based in South Africa and others registered overseas. Some of the best sports betting sites that offer online cricket betting in South Africa include: Registered in the UK and a leading international online betting agency, Bet365 allows South African cricket bettors to open accounts and make wagers in South African Rand. Bet365 offers a wide range of cricket markets involving the South African national team as well as all international events and domestic competitions. Licensed and regulated by the Western Cape Gambling and Racing Board, SportingBet markets itself as South Africa’s largest online sportsbook. SportingBet covers all domestic cricket competitions as well as matches and series involving the national side. One of the UK’s leading high street and internet bookmakers, Ladbrokes is open to South African residents and offers a wide range of cricket markets, including coverage of all international matches involving the South African national side. Ladbrokes is registered and licensed in Gibraltar, and accounts can be opened in South African Rand.

South African Cricket Betting Laws and Regulations

Online gambling is legalised under the National Gambling Amendment Act of 2008, as long as it is conducted through properly licensed and regulated operators. These bookmakers can be licensed in South Africa, if based in the territory of South Africa, or by the relevant regulatory authority in the territory in which they are based. Thus online cricket betting in South Africa is completely legal and risk free,

Depositing and Withdrawing Funds for South African Bettors

South African clients have a number of methods available for depositing funds, depending on the sportsbook being used. SportingBet accept deposits via credit or cheque card, direct bank transfer, or online through the prepaid card service, Ukash. Bet365 also allows these deposit methods, as well as providing deposit options through a bank cheque or via the eWallet services Moneybookers and Click2Pay. Labdbrokes allows deposits for South African clients with credit card, Western Union transfer, bank transfer or cheque.

Funds can be withdrawn from SportingBet via bank transfer, whilst Bet365 pays withdrawals directly onto a bank or credit card, through Moneybookers and Click2Pay, and via direct bank transfer and cheque. Ladbrokes provides withdrawals through cheque or bank transfer.

Cricket Competitions in South Africa

South Africa has a long and proud cricketing history, having been the third test playing nation after Australia and England. Suspended from international competition in 1970 and readmitted in 1991, the South African domestic cricket scene has remained vibrant and strong throughout its history. As of 2004 the main first class, one-day and Twenty20 competitions are all played between the same six regional sides.

The pre-eminent first-class tournament, originally known as the Currie Cup and first contested in 1888-89, is now known as the SuperSport Series. A second first-class competition, the South African Airways Provincial 3-Day Challenge, is played between the eleven provincial sides. The main one-day competition is the 40-over MTN Domestic Championship, played between the six regional sides on a home-and-away league basis. These teams also contest the Standard Bank Pro20 Series, a Twenty20 competition first played in 2004-05.