Building on the success of Twenty20 cricket in other parts of the world, the Indian Premier League (IPL) was launched by the Indian cricket board in March 2008, and is now one of the most valuable and highest-profile cricket tournaments in the world. For the average cricket enthusiast there are few domestic competitions (outside of their own country) that are as easy and enjoyable to bet on as the IPL. The top quality international players, the widespread media coverage and the general glitz and glamour of the competition makes for a hugely enjoyable and entertaining cricket betting experience.

Types of IPL Bets

Outright Bets

The most straightforward bet for the IPL is outright tournament winner. Related markets are available for selecting group winners, teams qualifying for the play-offs and the finalists. Outright match results are also available for all individual matches in the competition. As with most Twenty20 matches, a tied match is not possible. Matches level after 20 overs are decided by a Super Over.

IPL Tournament Prop Bets – Batting

An orange cap is worn by the leading run-scorer during the tournament, and the eventual winner of the orange cap is an established market. Over/Under bets for total tournament runs for individual batsman are also common. Given the high-speed nature of Twenty20 cricket, markets such as highest strike rate, fastest 50s and 100s, and most fours and sixes are also popular.

For team batting, highest and lowest team scores are solid markets, as are highest partnerships, most runs in an over, and most team sixes.

IPL Tournament Prop Bets – Bowling

As for the batsman, the leading tournament wicket-taker at any time wears a purple cap, and the ultimate winner of the purple cap is a popular market. The leading wicket-taker for each team is also available, as are markets on total tournament wickets for any named bowler. Markets can also be found for best tournament economy rate, allowing for a minimum number of overs bowled.

IPL Match Betting

The markets on offer for individual matches are essentially the same as those found for most Twenty20 matches, with an extensive range of batting, bowling, totals and specials markets available.

IPL Live Betting

The short duration of Twenty20 matches means live betting in this format of the game is especially popular, and the IPL is no exception. Markets often focus on the next over or even the next ball. Other live bets include batsman total runs, fall of the next wicket, mode of dismissal and so on.

How to Bet on IPL Cricket

The IPL is a young competition, only having started in 2008, and there have been ongoing changes to the team rosters, the format of the competition, and the grounds being used to host matches. Add to this uncertainty the rapidly changing nature of individual Twenty20 games, where momentum can shift quickly from one team to another, and betting on the IPL can be a challenging, but also exciting, experience. Some pointers for betting on the IPL include:

• Momentum counts: Teams will often go on a winning run of three or four games on the trot – but losing streaks are also common. Overall win-loss rates are relatively even, but a team entering the knock-out stages on the back of a few wins is generally a good proposition.

• Emerging Powers: Although the competition is relatively new, some teams are emerging as consistent challengers. The Chennai Super Kings, who qualified for the knock-out stages in each of the first three years of the competition and won it in 2010, and the Mumbai Indians, runners up in 2010, are likely to be consistently strong. Although the competition is unpredictable, it is likely that some teams will challenge for the trophy more often than others. Identifying those teams and following their progress allows the knowledgeable gambler to identify better value markets.

• Home Advantage: The race for top tournament run-scorer is often a number of high-profile players, both Indian and non-Indian. Top tournament wicket-taker is a different story, and it appears that local knowledge of bowling conditions plays a key role in being consistently successful with the ball. All three winners of the competition’s purple cap have come from the sub-continent, and two of them have been Indian players.

About Twenty20 Cricket

History of the IPL

The IPL is run by the Indian Cricket Board, the BCCI, and was first held in 2008. It operates under a franchise system, in which companies and individuals purchase franchise rights for regionally-based teams. Eight franchises were sold initially, with a further two being made available for the start of the 2011 season. The IPL is, by some margin, the most valuable domestic cricket competition in the world in terms of sponsorship and media rights.

Format of the IPL

The IPL is run in two parts. The first part consists of a league (and from 2011, two leagues) in which teams play approximately 14 matches, home and away. The top four teams progress to a play-off, and the top two teams progress to a one-match final.

Features of the IPL

A distinguishing feature of the IPL is the annual player auction in which individual players, many of them high-profile internationals, are sold by auction to the franchises. The presence of these marquee names, and the consistently high levels of cricket played in the competition, makes the IPL one of the most attractive cricket tournaments for gambling enthusiasts outside of the international arena.

Check out our latest preview of the Indian Premier League 2013