Cricket Betting India

Although online bookmakers based in India are not permitted, foreign-based betting agencies can accept Indian clients, and Indian residents are not restricted from placing bets online. Some of the best sports betting sites that have good cricket betting options include: Established in 2000 and registered in the UK, Bet365 allows clients to open accounts in Indian rupees. Bet365 offers a wide range of cricket markets including international matches involving India and the IPL. A relative newcomer in the betting markets, but has been able to establish itself as a premiere betting and gambling site online for gamblers around the world. Has a decent market for cricket betting and allows Indian players to deposit and bet. Although this company has been in the Asian market for a long time it is only in the later years they have been trying to establish themselves in the rest of the world. Great betting markets for cricket and decent promotions for new players makes this a good choice for Indian players.

Indian Cricket Betting Laws and Regulations

Whilst sports betting is illegal in India and physical betting shops are outlawed, there is no national legislation that specifically outlaws online cricket betting in India. This is also true of state laws, aside from in Maharashtra, where the Bombay Wager Act makes it illegal to place a bet over the internet.

The Indian government does not currently block or restrict access to foreign-based betting sites, and it is not illegal for Indian residents to open an account or place cricket bets on the internet. There are a number of foreign-based betting sites that accept Indian cricket bets, as outlined above.

Depositing and Withdrawing Funds For Indian Bettors

There are a variety of options for Indian customers wishing to deposit funds into online cricket betting accounts. Depending on the bookmaker in question, funds can be paid into betting accounts by direct bank transfer, cheque or credit card, or via an online payment service such as Neteller. Another option is a cash deposit through Western Union, which is accepted by many online bookmakers.

The majority of foreign bookmakers do not hold accounts in Indian Rupees (Bet365 do) and account holders must specify the currency they wish to use for their betting account, usually US Dollars, Euros or the British Pound.

Fees may be charged depending on the method used and the different regulations of the bookmaker in question. Withdrawal methods differ depending on the bookmaker, but include cheque, bank transfer and Neteller.

We would definitely recommend using Neteller if you want to deposit funds at an online sportsbook. Although you can utilize bank transfer, credit card or some other methods those have varying degrees of success rates so sticking to the surefire way of funding an ewallet at Neteller and then moving that money into your bookmaker of choice is the safest play. It also makes it easier to move funds around once you have it in there. Deposits are instant and withdrawals are often near instant with Neteller which is why we use it ourselves, even though we are not situated in India.

Click here to get yourself an account with Neteller and start betting on cricket today!

Cricket Competitions in India

Reflecting India’s passion for cricket, there are a wide range of domestic cricket competitions. The newest and most recognisable, at least internationally, is the Indian Premier League, a high-profile franchise-based Twenty20 competition, but there are a number of other well-established competitions covering first-class, 50 over and Twenty20 cricket.

India’s oldest domestic tournament is the Ranji Trophy, a first class inter-state league established in 1934. There is also a regional first class competition, the Duleep Trophy. There are three major one-day competitions: the Vijay Hazare Trophy, played between the state sides; the Deodhar Trophy, played between five regional sides; and a company-based 50-over tournament established in 2009, the BCCI Corporate Trophy. Since 2009 sides also compete in an inter-state Twenty20 tournament, the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Aside from the IPL, the majority of Indian domestic competitions are not covered by foreign bookmaking sites, although some bookmakers may offer odds on outright winner for the more prestigious domestic competitions.