Ashes Betting

The Ashes is the oldest and most famous Test Match series in the world, and has been played between England and Australia since 1882. As one of the highest profile Test match series in the world, there is a massive range of possibilities when it comes to placing a bet on the Ashes.

Ashes Betting Online

Listed in the table below are the top 3 sites at which to bet on the Ashes online. Each site has been ranked based on the number of markets available and the odds on offer for betting on the Ashes.

How to Bet on the Ashes

Ashes series are often hard fought and close. It is important to have a sense of the form of individual players going into the series, and to keep an eye out for injuries to key players. A few good tips include:

• Know the history: it is straightforward to find out individual and team records for the series as a whole, and for each ground in particular.

• Look for the in-form player: often one or two players will have stellar series, and the sooner these players can be identified the better for finding an appropriate market. Steve Waugh in 1989 and Michael Vaughan in 2002-03 are good examples.

• Avoid the draw: Unless the weather is likely to be a major factor, drawn matches are increasingly rare in Ashes cricket. Between 1990 and 2011 only 11 of 57 matches were drawn, as opposed to 21 out of 60 matches between 1970 and 1989, but odds rarely reflect this decine in the percentage of matches drawn.

Types of Ashes Bets

Outright Bets

The high-profile of the Ashes series means that futures markets are available well in advance of the actual series. These focus on overall series results, with options for choosing the exact score.

Individual Performance Bets

Two of the most popular individual performance Ashes bets are those for leading runscorer and leading wicket-taker. These can be selected for the series as a whole, or the leading run-scorer within each team. Leading all-rounder may also be offerred, with a points system created to determine the value of catches, run outs, wickets and so on. Individual performance bets are generally available for every player, whether for the series as a whole or individual tests.

Team Performance Bets

A variety of markets are also available for overall team performance, which would include markets such as highest team score, total number of centuries, number of ‘5-for’ bowling performances and so on.

Other Prop Bets

Prices are available on virtually every aspect of the Ashes series. Prices for total series catches, number of sixes, or whether specific events such as a double or triple century take place are offered by many online cricket betting sites.

Ashes Match Bets

A popular Ashes betting market is Match Bets, where two players (whether from the same side or from different sides) are chosen to match-up against each other in a head to head contest to see which player scores the most runs or takes the most wickets. These can be placed on individual Ashes Tests or on the Ashes series as a whole.

2013 Ashes Betting

As of the start of 2011, some bookmakers are already offerring a range of futures markets on the 2013 Ashes series. These include markets for series result, England to win both 2013 and 2014-15 series, and England to win 5-0.

About the Ashes

History of the Ashes

The Ashes is the general usage name for the England-Australia Test series, derived from a satirical obituary in the English press following the first loss to Australia in a Test match in 1882. The name was not widely used for subsequent series until it was taken up again in 1902, and from then on the series has been almost exclusively referred to as the Ashes.

For many years, until as recently as the 1950s, England and Australia were the two dominant Test match playing nations, and as such the series between them often defined the winners as the world’s best cricket team.

The Ashes has been played on a regular basis since 1882, generally taking place every two years. There have been a total of 66 Ashes series played, comprising 310 separate Test Matches. Since the 1920-21 series, the majority of Ashes series have been played over five Tests, although a handful of six-Test series have also been played. The series winners are said to have ‘won the Ashes’. In the event of a drawn series, the Ashes are retained by the holders.

Ashes Records and Statistics

As of 2011, Australia was the more successful of the two teams, having won 123 of the 310 matches as opposed to England’s 100 victories. Australia have won or retained the Ashes on 35 occasions, as opposed to 31 for England.

Australian dominance has been even more marked since 1945, with Australia winning 18 of 34 series compared to England’s 12 series victories, and 72 Test matches compared to Englands 47 wins. Between 1989 and 2005 Australia won every series, winning 28 Test matches whilst losing only 7. However in recent years the series has been more competitive, with England wining in 2005, 2009 and 2010-11.

The history of the Ashes is covered in more detail at the Lords site and there is also a good here at the BBC Ashes history article.

Check out our preview of the Ashes 2013 event.